Spurs Reserves dismiss Mavericks

Franchise prepares for 33rd foray into the NBA Playoffs


–The San Antonio Spurs have distinction of being the only former ABA Team to have ever won a championship, much less five of them.  Beginning Saturday night, the San Antonio Spurs will embark on their 33rd attempt to reach the pinnacle of the NBA, the battle for the Larry O’Brien Trophy.

Last night, the Spurs reserves, a lineup of Boban Marjanovic, Kyle Anderson, Danny Green, Andre Miller and Matt Bonner defeated the starting line up for the Dallas Mavericks 96-91 with Marjanovic matching a career high 22 points along with 12 boards.

Boris Diaw made his return to the court after sitting out with a minor injury the past few games.  He liked what he and his teammates were able to accomplish against the A squad of the Mavericks.

“Obviously we’ve got great guys and great Hall of Fame’rs and starters, (Tim, Tony, Manu, Kawhi, LaMarcus and David West all stayed in SA) but the support cast has been doing a great job all season,” Diaw said.

“A lot of fun,” said Danny Green, the only San Antonio starter to play. “We got a chance to get the young guys out there, move the ball a little bit, push the pace, try something different. It’s always fun to win when you’ve got your old guys sitting out.”

The 2016 NBA Playoffs begin this Sunday with Game 1 against the Memphis Grizzlies at 8 pm at the AT&T Center.   Plenty of great seats and affordable tickets are still available so be sure to get yours today and help cheer your San Antonio Spurs to the NBA Finals!

[mappress mapid=”50″]

Leave a Reply