Manu eighth, TP 12th in NBA’s MVP balloting

Manu Ginobili ranked eighth and Tony Parker was 12th in balloting among media members for the 2011 Kia MVP Award that was overwhelming won by Chicago guard Derrick Rose.

Media members gave Rose 113 of the 121 first-place votes. LeBron James, who finished third, claimed four first-place votes. Dwight Howard, who finished second in balloting had three first-place votes. Kobe Bryant, who finished fourth, claimed the other first-place vote.

The Spurs and Boston were the only teams to have two players who received votes this season.

David Robinson in 1995 and Tim Duncan in 2002 and 2003 are the only Spurs to receive the NBA’s MVP awards.

Rose is the youngest player in NBA history to receive the award.

Leave a Reply